IgnitionOne Wins ClickZ Connected Marketing Award

Dell was named the winner of ClickZ Connected Marketing Awards in two categories: Best Use of Social Media and Best Use of Display Advertising.

For social media, Dell tapped LinkedIn to foster a community of information technology professionals who are the technology vendor's target customers. For display advertising, the brand developed a model that merged behavioral targeting technologies with dynamic creative tools that built customized ad messages.

Christian Georgeou, an awards judge, called the Dell effort a "great campaign targeting a niche group through a specific social network. Interesting to see them partnering with LinkedIn to test out custom groups." Georgeou is marketing manager for Incisive Media's SES conference series, ClickZ, and Search Engine Watch.

Kirkland's and Extended Stay Hotels were winners of the Excellence in Connected Marketing award. KFC and SAP scored recognition for their marketing initiatives; ClickZ Experts contributor Sean Carton received the ClickZ Marketing Excellence award.

"We commend the winners of ClickZ Connected Marketing Awards for truly demonstrating a commitment to innovation and creativity while remaining focused on business results," said Anna Maria Virzi, executive editor, ClickZ.

Excellence in Connected Marketing

Winner: Extended Stay Hotels
Campaign: Managing Search + Display Holistically to Drive Efficient Booking Costs
Agencies: Digital Marketing Works/IgnitionOne
Judge's remark: "They used the right tools to tackle the issue of relevance and got some great results to show for it," said Bryan Eisenberg, a ClickZ Experts contributor and judge.

Winner: Kirkland's
Campaign: Kirkland's Glee Spree
Agency: redpepper
Judge's remark: "The campaign certainly met and far exceeded the stated objectives of positioning Kirkland's as a gift retailer, growing the email list, and Facebook community," said Lee Odden, a ClickZ Experts contributor and judge.

Judges for the awards competition included the editorial team and marketing experts who write for ClickZ and Search Engine Watch, as well as members of SES conference board of directors. Judges were: Jonathan Allen, Janice Diner, Bryan Eisenberg, Dave Evans, Christian Georgeou, Danny Goodwin, Mike Grehan, Kate Kaye, Anne Kennedy, Angela Man, Jack Marshall, Stephanie Miller, Lee Odden, Lisa Raehsler, Zachary Rodgers, Laura Roth, Anna Maria Virzi, Robert Weber, and Tessa Wegert.

The competition was limited to marketing campaigns that took place in the United States and Canada for English-speaking audiences. Campaigns must have taken place in 2010 or launched before Dec. 31, 2010.


tel. 03-6880-1180